h1

Sharp spoons? That’s about the dumbest thing I ever heard.

February 26, 2007

,, ,,, ,
By now some of you may have wondered what’s up with this title, “The Sharpened Spoon”, you haven’t? Well, it’s my blog so I’m gonna tell you anyway. It started out as a sarcastic barb at people who try to impress you with their “big fishyness” while standing ankle deep in small pond waters. 

 I would say to my long suffering wife, “It doesn’t take much to be the sharpest knife in a drawer full of spoons,” and she would roll her eyes and give a sigh. People like that make me want to put them in a sack and kick them. ( not my wife , the fish people)

Over time I came to realize that we are all like that in some way, and the worst way of all is the Elijah syndrome in which we try to convince God that we, like Noah, are the only one left down here who is paying attention. So God began reminding me of this little phrase every time I became to big for my britches, “You’re right, that was great prayer time, but let’s be honest, ‘it don’t take much to be the sharpest knife in a drawer full of spoons’. Ouch! Ever have God make fun of you? He does it to me all of the time. Probably because that is what I understand best, anyway…

So I began to realize that it doesn’t mean much when I compare myself to other “deeply flawed” persons. I mean look at the lot of us, the human race has chosen as some of its stellar examples, Genghis Khan, King Solomon (the wisest idol worshiping whore monger who ever lived, and got to write part of the Bible) , Judas, Billy Ray Cyrus (sorry, I’m sure he’s a great guy, but he can’t act and he has not one but two TV series, come on! Although I gotta give the guy credit for getting out of the country music biz with that one big hit before anybody realized he couldn’t sing either.) the list goes on and on.

So when I boast, what am I really bragging about? As I once heard it the best among us is just one beggar telling another beggar where to find bread. In the end boasting doesn’t get you very far, even if you managed to rise to the top of the stack and could categorically state that you were the best human being who ever walked the face of the planet, that’s like saying, “out of all the stinky poop in the world,mine stinks least.”

So back to the spoon thingy. I came to realize that I wasn’t even the sharpest knife in the spoon drawer. I was just a spoon like everybody else, so what to do? At first I considered  becoming a professional under achiever (the pay stinks but the hours are great!), after all how hard could it be it be? But then I realized that it was okay to be a spoon, we all start out as spoons, and someday if we’re blessed and choose our friends well we will become, TA DA! “Sharpened Spoons!!! …oons…oons..oons”

 (echo effect just in case you didn’t get it). That’s right, Prov. 27:17 As iron sharpens Iron, so one spoon sharpens another. (okay it actually says man instead of spoon but I think most of you get it)

I finally came to the realization that I am one messed up dude, and that’s okay. Now I’ve never done anything that anyone could point to and say, Wow, he sure messed that up, but if we are guilty of one point of the law we are guilty of all, and there is only one price, no matter the sin, death is the penalty. Whew! Thank god for Jesus.

So when you read my title just remind yourself that you too are a spoon, and then ask, how sharp am I?

3 comments

  1. I love the analogy and new look at a good topic. thanks for the reminder.


  2. holy cow! is that an original quote? i have never heard that. I collect great quotes.

    I will be adding to the list. Referenced to you!


  3. A friend sent me a link to your post and told me specifically about this post, because she’d enjoyed it. I’m glad I stopped by your blog. I’ve been enjoying reading through it.

    That’s a great point. It loses the “glamour” when it turns out you’re just a spoon with a bit of an edge, rather than a superior razor sharp chef knife. In the end, even the best of us, are all just humble spoons.

    ~Kelsey



Leave a Reply

